California’s Seismic Retrofitting Requirements, Deadlines and Penalties

Table of Contents

As a landlord in California, you are likely aware of the strict requirements for earthquake retrofitting. However, you may not be aware of the specific details of what is required. In this blog post, we will provide an overview of the California earthquake retrofit requirements for landlords. We will discuss the types of buildings that must be retrofitted, the deadlines for retrofitting, and the penalties for non-compliance. By the end of this post, you will have a clear understanding of the retrofit requirements and how they apply to your property.

Types of Buildings That Must be Retrofitted 

As we mentioned, the first step is to identify if your building needs to be retrofitted. The California Building Code requires that structures built before 1978 must be retrofitted if they fall into one of the following categories:

-Unreinforced masonry buildings

-Soft-story buildings

-Non-ductile concrete buildings

Retrofitting Deadlines

If your building falls into one of these categories, you will need to complete the retrofitting process by the deadlines set forth by the state. The deadlines vary depending on the type of building, but they are generally as follows:

-Unreinforced masonry buildings: December 31, 2020

-Soft-story buildings: October 13, 2025

-Non-ductile concrete buildings: June 30, 2030

Penalties for Non-Compliance

If you fail to meet these deadlines, you may be subject to penalties. The penalties for non-compliance can vary, but they may include fines, legal action, or the loss of your rental license.

So, if you own a property that needs to be retrofitted, it is important to be aware of the deadlines and make sure that you are in compliance. If you have any questions about the process, please contact a professional retrofitting company like Retrofitting 360. We would be happy to help you with your retrofitting needs.